Salaam

This week, I am going to use my blog post to address the rise of anti-Semitism in the United States. For those of you who do not know, since January there have been at least 100 bomb threats towards Jewish Community Centers and schools all across the US. They started on January 9th when 15 different Jewish Community Centers and schools received threats, followed by more on the 18th, the 31st, and February 20th. The most recent set of threats came last Monday, February 27th, where 31 bomb threats were called in to 23 Jewish Community Centers and schools. These threats have been received in 81 different locations across 33 states. 

This is all extremely troubling and upsetting to me, but I know I cannot let it get me down. I am proud of my Jewish heritage and I am not afraid to let the world know. I will also not let it turn me into a violent person. It is imperative that instead of focusing on the hate and retaliating with violence, we need to focus on peace and loving each other more than ever. That is why this week I have recorded a cover of the song “Salaam” to share with you all.

 

“Salaam” is one of my favorite Jewsic songs due to its beautiful message. Just like “Hinie Ma Tov” it only has a few lyrics, but they have so much meaning to me. Originally the song is seen as a call for peace and a call to end the Arab-Israili conflict. In Hebrew, the lyrics are

“.עוד יבוא שלום עלינו ועל כולם סלאם עלינו ועל כל העולם” These lyrics are pronounced, “Od yavo shalom aleinu. Ve’al kulam. Salaam. Aleinu ve’al kol ha olam.” The song has two parts, the verse (from od yavo to ve’al kulam) and the chorus (from salaam to olam). The verse translates to “Peace will come upon us, yet. And upon everyone,” and the chorus translates to “Peace. Upon us and upon the whole world.” What I really love about this song, is that the first verse uses the word “shalom,” which is peace in Hebrew, while the chorus and title of the song use the word “Salaam,” which is the Arabic word for peace. To me, this song symbolizes the unity, peace, and love that can be achieved eventually, and hopefully soon.

 

This has been an emotional few months since January for me when it comes to my Judaism. This song represents how I still believe we can achieve peace and unity, as well as the fact that I will never hide my Judaism. I will continue to be proud of who I am and what I believe. I hope you enjoy the song. Salaam.

 

One thought on “Salaam

Leave a Reply

